The Cosmetic Kit

Happy September everyone! Now is the perfect time to capture your summer shine whilst we slowly kiss the sunshine goodbye. Last month I took a little trip to the beatiful island of Jersey, where make up shopping is a dream. The department stores over there offer all the high end cosmetics with a tax free price tag! Needless to say I took advanatage of this, and purchased a Bobbi Brown powder compact, which I will fill you in on.

First thing’s first though, let me walk you through my fail-proof base essentials. I usually bang on about how obsessed I am with Bare Minerals powder foundation, but it is also nice to have another option. This is where my favourite high street brand comes in – Revelon. Allow me to introduce you to the colourstay foundation and her little sister, photoready concealer. Along with these, we have the fantastic rose glow shimmer palette.

I’ve always loved Revelon because it gives you a sense of luxury with an affordable price tag. The quality is really good and I find that their shades and colour palettes are always accomadating to those of us with a paler complexion. The photoready concealer comes in a stick and blends easily to cover up blemishes and under eye circles in a flash. I opt for shade 002, which perfectly compliments their foundation. Revelon Colourstay works wonders for me when applied with a sponge. It is targeted for dry skin, so it keeps my face well hydrated throughout the day. It also protects your skin from the damage of the deadly sun rays, with an SPF of 15 – winner! This makes for a flawless base which will survive day and night. Jn terms of its finish, I find that it gives a subtle, radiant glow. This is perfect for me because on oily days I can matte it out with pressed powder (right) or I can enhance the dewy finish by mixing it with some coconut oil and dusting with my Bobbi Brown nude powder. (Left)

The rose glow jumped out and yelled buy me off its shelf in Boots because it looks just like a replicate of Bobbi Brown’s shimmer brick.  Cheeky!

imageNevertheless, I have been after one of these for ages, and when funds are getting a little low, I see no reason why not to give it a try! I like the pinky blend this gives you on your brush, and it is easy to sweep over your cheeks to give a girly flush and a sparkly highlight to your bone structure.

Now let me enlighten you with the real Bobbi Brown compact I splashed out on in Jersey! I had a great time exploring the capital St Helier – I couldn’t resist stopping off at the BB counter and getting a make over before hitting the beach. This was where I fell in love with this beautiful illumination powder.

There are many shades available, but I went for the nude finish to seal the shine in my skin. By gently rolling your brush over all of the blocks, you get a combination of each shade to blend into your base using circular motions. It definitely adds a pretty, youthful glow and was just the thing my make up bag was missing! A perfect purchase to bring back from my little adventure in Jersey. Go ahead and enjoy a groovy moment from my snapchat story.

img_7047

No make up kit would be complete without a liquid eyeliner, and I always opt for the pen type. I formerly owned the Soap and Glory Cat Eyes, but whilst I was in Covent garden I decided it was time for an upgrade. I went for the Charlotte Tilbury Feline Flick pen.

The precision you get with this pen is AMAZING. As expected, it takes about 5 seconds to dry before you can release your eyelid but once applied and dried, you are good to go! It stays on pretty well and the thin tip means you have complete control over the thickness and shape of your flick. Great for a daytime natural liner look or marvellous for building up into a dramatic evening look.

So, what does it come down to?

pink-star-glitter-coarse-grained-hair-clip-522-p

I have decided to give my readers a hardcore insight to these featured products by rating them out of 5. I will also list where to buy from and how much each one costs.

REVLON COLOURSTAY FOUNDATION

Durability: 4/5

Colour match: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5

Buy for £12.99 from Boots  here.

REVLON PHOTOREADY CONCEALER

Durability: 4/5

Colour match: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5

Buy for £6.99 from Boots here

REVLON HIGHLIGHTING PALETTE

Easy to use: 4/5

Contour effective: 3/5

Value for money: 4/5

Buy for £9.99 from Boots here.

BOBBI BROWN ILLUMINATING POWDER

Durability: 5/5

Glow effective: 5/5

Value for money: 4 and a half/5

Buy for £39 from Debenhams here.

CHARLOTTE TILBURY FELINE FLICK LINER

Durability: 4/5

Precision: 5/5

Value for money: 4 and a half/5

Buy for £22 in Panther Black here.

 

And that’s a wrap for today! Thank you so much for reading and I hope my reviews have been helpful. Let me know what you think of my post by liking, commenting and following. Have a beauty filled week. X

 

2 thoughts on “The Cosmetic Kit

Leave a Reply

